Review #109: Chelsea Yogurt Scotch 「チェルシ・ヨーグルトスカッチ」

26Mar11

On the top corner it says “なめらか” which is similar to the one from the Nameraka Pudding. Now, I actually looked it up and “なめらか” means “smoothness” or “glassiness”. That makes sense for this, not so much for the pudding. I love the design of the box and the design ON the box.

Taste:
To be honest, I didn’t really know what to think when I first had this. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t exactly “good”. It was kind of…confusing. But of course, the first piece is always different from the rest because you get used to it. What I did know for sure was that this was darker than I imagined.

It’s tangy, but it doesn’t really have a definitive taste at first. And then slowly, the flavor builds up. It’s kind of like…pungent, I want to say. It tastes a lot like those yogurt drinks like Yakult (which is basically fermented bacteria, but I actually love those drinks). It’s really gross if you think about it too much, but I do really like it, it tastes good. Anyways, that’s the only way I can describe this, it’s like Ramune. You can’t really describe it any other way, and it’s hard to describe to people who’ve never tried it before.

Basically (for people who haven’t tried Yakult or yogurt drinks of the like), it’s tangy, but a little bit sweet. Maybe…like yogurt gone bad? I really don’t know.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.58oz (45g)
Serving Size: 3 pieces(13.5g)
Servings: 3
Calories: 55
Total Fat: 0.5g
Sat Fat: 0g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium 15mg
Total Carbohydrate: 13g
Sugars: 12g

Cost:
I bought mine’s for $1.68 (which is a little maddening, because I found it cheaper at Nijiya later…it’s so hard because sometimes the market is cheaper and sometimes it’s Nijiya).

Get it at Amazon($5.99), 10 packs at Amazon($12.99), eFoodDepot($1.65), or Tsunami.hk($4.99).

*These candies melt easily, so be careful*

Read a review by Candy Blog.

No Responses Yet to “Review #109: Chelsea Yogurt Scotch 「チェルシ・ヨーグルトスカッチ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

