Review #110: Kasugai Mango Gummy「マンゴーグミ」

02Apr11

I’ve been going to this SAT prep place for a while, and now I finally get to quit! Yay! It was so boring. The teacher was a total idiot and gross too, he was always stretching and his shirt was too small so it always showed his skin. Ew.

Anyhow, the week I quit, I happened to buy this bag of candy, perfect coincidence. It was at this pretty awesome place. I’ve been there twice (not including that time) for lunch – crepes. It’s SUPER delicious. This was my first one (Crepes Jasper) and then Traffic Light (only they didn’t have mango ice cream, so I got strawberry cheesecake – which was awesome!) I love how Flickr can tell what kind of camera you used.

Still, this is upsetting. For one thing, the price. The bag had a sticker that said “$2.75”, but when I went to pay for it, it turned out to be “$3.01”. Darn. And then when I got home, I noticed that it already expired. Around December. Double Darn. I think it should be okay though. I mean, it’s individually packaged and there it hadn’t been opened. Moreover, it doesn’t look or smell strange.

Taste:
I absolutely adore mangoes, they’re my favorite fruit. It tastes pretty okay. I mean, it does have a mango taste to it, but it isn’t really that prominent. It’s there if you really look for it, but otherwise, it’s kind of hard to find.

I kind of blew through these. I mean, you know, just to be safe(r). I found the taste okay, it wasn’t that great. Although it may have been mentally influenced since I was thinking “it’s expired” the whole time. Still, it’s pretty good, I guess.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 4.06oz (115g)
Serving Size: 8 pieces (40g)
Servings: about 3
Calories: 130
Total Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 10mg
Total Carbohydrate: 31g
Sugars: 31g
Protein: 2g
Vitamin A: 2%
Vitamin C: 70%

Cost:
So like I said, I bought it for $3.01, I know I can get it for cheaper at Japantown, so that’s where I’m going to get it from, from now on.

There’s a lot of places you can buy this online, but I’m only choosing to show two because I trust them. $2.98 at Asian Food Grocer and $6.99 at Tsunami.hk

I do recommend this, but I probably wouldn’t buy these again, and not just because they were expired –

No Responses Yet to “Review #110: Kasugai Mango Gummy「マンゴーグミ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

