Review #113: Adult Kit Kat 「オトナ キットカット」

14Apr11

This is ridiculous. After the Chocolate Wonderland, I felt sick of chocolate, so I got kind of fruity candy. And now I feel like chocolate again, but I don’t really have any. Or more, I want chocolate like…drops I guess? Like, I don’t want a whole bar that I have to eat at once or it’ll become stale (referring to this Kit Kat). Life is weird. Anyhow,

Finally! I saw this like twice. First time, I passed over it. Second time, I almost got it, but didn’t. Then I saw a review for it from Pocky Watch(link below), and wanted it. When I went back, they were sold out! Finally, finally I get my hands on this treat.

Taste:
This will be my second Kit Kat (that’s Japanese made, that is). The reason why I passed over it before was because…well, it was a tad bit expensive. Or more, my friends convinced me it was, but honestly, it’s not that much. I mean, as far as getting imported sweets from Japan that is.

Wow. First of all, the chocolate coating is really hard. Or at least, it was for the very first bite. I like the taste of it. It’s somewhere in between really really (like 70-80%) dark chocolate and not so dark (like Hershey’s Special Dark). If I had to guess, I’d say it was about 60% dark or so. The texture is great too. The wafer inside is crispy and I think, unlike normal Kit Kats, it’s more…crumbly. Like, I feel like it’s not just a whole wafer, per se, but instead a clump of wafer bits smashed into a wafer shape, if that makes any sense (Coincidentally, the day after I wrote this, my friend brought some Kit Kats to school and she gave me half of a piece, and so I can confidently say that this Kit Kat’s wafers are “crunchier” and more crumbly than normal ones).

It’s really really good. I mean, it’s not like the Framboise one good (which made me feel like I’d died and gone to sweets heaven), it’s more subtle. I guess, to put it simply, the Framboise was a flashy kind of delicious, but this one is more plain. But both are still delicious. Man, why didn’t I buy this earlier?

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.44oz (41g)
Serving Size: 1 piece(41g)
Servings: 1
Calories: 230
Total Fat: 14g
Sat Fat: 0g
Trans Fat:0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 120mg
Total Carbohydrate: 24g
Sugar: 15g
Protein: 3g

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $2.29.

You can buy it at napaJapan in several ways as a single bar ($2.99), a box of 3 minis ($2.79), 2 mini bars ($1.99), pack of 4 ($2.79) or a bag of 13 minis ($8.49).

I kind of feel like buying more…which really means something, because I’m not saying just hypothetically buying it, but actually doing it –

Read reviews by Pocky Watch, Japanese Snack Reviews, Ramen and Friends and Jen Ken’s Kit Kat Blog.

No Responses Yet to “Review #113: Adult Kit Kat 「オトナ キットカット」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

