Review #116: Shaka Shaka Gummy 「シャカシャカグミ」

06May11

Here’s the same candy, with different mascots – penguins & polar bears! How cute. If you’ve been keeping up with this blog, you might remember that I don’t like grape flavored candies. It’s true, I still don’t. But, I caved for this. I don’t actually remember why. I think it was kind of a whim. I remember standing in front of the shelf with my friend, holding both this and the Tirol Mix. And I remember saying, “Oh well, I’ll just get both”.

Taste:


“I was disappointed”, or at least, that was what I was going to say.  I thought these were going to be sour, but they weren’t at all, and I was going to give it a somewhat “bad” review. But now looking at the text again, I might have misinterpreted it.

It said “すっぱひんやりパウダー”. I didn’t know (and couldn’t find) what “ひんやり”(hinyari) meant, but I thought that “すっぱ”(suppa) was supposed to mean sour, but it might not be after all.
すっぱい (suppai) – sour
スッパ  (suppa) – super

It would’ve been much easier to tell that it was “super” if the text was in katakana instead of hiragana. :(

Putting that aside, on to the review. It smells really good, kind of like, fruit juice.

Orange 「オレンジ」
The powder taste basically like sugar. I feel like there’s a hint of sourness, but that just might be me hoping for it.

Well, it tastes…okay I guess, not really. It reminds me of medicine, even though I haven’t really heard of orange flavored medicine before. It’s kind of gross, but still tolerable.

Grape「クレープ」
This was unsuprisingly better than I used to think, if that makes sense. Like, I never liked grape flavored stuff (or grapes in general), but when I tried that grape Calpis candy once, I thought it might be okay. And this is.

It’s totally juicy and tastes better than real grapes and grape juice. Like, normal grape juice (straight from the fruit) is kind of sour, that’s why I don’t really like grapes. But this is kind of artificially sweetened, though not to the point where it tastes gross like grape juice (bleck) or grape medicine.

Apple「アップル」
It’s hard to find the apple ones, since they look similar to both grape and orange, a mix of the two.

I really like this one. It’s like apple cider. I remember when we were younger, my sister and I would get to drink apple cider when it was our birthdays. That was awesome. Nowadays, we drink it whenever there’s a holiday and the family eats together, so it’s not as special anymore. But yeah.

There’s something else this taste reminds me of, but I can’t remember what.

Soda 「ソーダ」
Weird, I should have said these things in the beginning. For all them, they’re really juicy and I like the texture of the gummies. It’s not too sticky, but at the same time it’s not too waxy either.

Yum. Definite ramune flavor. Well, on one hand, it tastes exactly like ramune. But I realized something somewhere along within these 116 posts. I like ramune as a drink, but to be honest, it’s not that good as a candy. In candy forms, most of the time, the ramune ends up tasting like soap or something along that line.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.97oz (56g)
Serving Size: 56g
Calories: 173
Total Fat: less than 1g
Sat Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 9mg
Total Carbohydrates: 43g
Sugar:30g
Protein: 3g

Cost:
I bought this for $1.89.

(To be honest, I’m not sure if this person’s still selling, so don’t put all your hope into this site) You can buy a similar bag (except this one has pineapple instead of apple) at killahcrash($2.80). Just keep scrolling, it’s near the middle. It’s past the Asparagus Pretz and right between the Takenoko no Sato biscuits and Juicy Tablet Grape Candy. It’s a pretty big image, so you shouldn’t miss it.

No Responses Yet to “Review #116: Shaka Shaka Gummy 「シャカシャカグミ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

