Review #117: Don Tacos – Chili Taco Flavor 「ドンタコス:チリタコス昧」

31May11

I actually finished this bag & review a while back. But stupid school got in the way. Anyways, an announcement. After the next two reviews (not including this one), I’m not going to review regularly anymore. Money’s a little tight right now so yeah. I still will make trips to Japantown (when I can) & I will buy snacks if it catches my attention. But I won’t be buying in order to meet a review “deadline”. I’ll just take what I have and try to span it out between the next time I go to Japantown. So yeah. Hope no one’s disappointed.

To be honest, I’m not a big fan of Mexican food. I like nachos, and occasionally some dishes, but yeah. I mean, I don’t hate it, but I don’t like it all that much either.

The reason I got this…well, I felt like getting chips this time, though I didn’t know which really. None of the packages really popped out to me the first time, but then I spotted this. And I thought “Doritos”, or something. Well, I wanted something spicy and my friend bought this other one I wanted so I just decided to get this one instead.

Yay (or at least I hope so), this is 20% more than usual, though I don’t know what “usual” is.

Taste:
I was surprised when I opened this. Immediately, a sweet smell wafted towards me, which I found kind of strange. At first I couldn’t place it, but now after awkwardly smelling it some more, I have to say it reminds me of ramen noodles. Or at least the powder part I guess? I remember I used to come home after school and make ramen by itself (like not the instant kind where you just put in water and wait, but actually on the stove, though I suppose that’s kind of instant too).

At first, I thought “sweeter than I expected”. Since it was chili flavor, I had expected it to be spicy so the sweet taste really shocked me. But after a few chips, I started to feel the burn of the spices. It isn’t too hot, but it’s still got a burn. If I had to rate it’s spiciness, I’d say it was medium.

I really love the taste of the spices, and since they use tortilla chips, it makes it seem even more legit. It’s sweet, sour and spicy. It reminds me more of nachos dipped in salsa rather than a chili taco. Well, I guess you could say they’re similar – with the tortilla shell and tomato and spices. But the thing that lacks from making this a “taco” would be the lettuce, cheese and meat, but I wonder how one would incorporate that into a chip anyhow.

Well I guess it doesn’t really matter, because in the end, I like it and that’s all that matters.

Basically though, to sum it up, it smells like ramen, but tastes like nachos/a burrito.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 3.1oz (88g)
Serving Size: 1oz (28.3g)
Servings: about 3
Calories: 145
Total Fat: 7.5g
Sat Fat: 1.5g
Cholesterol: 0g
Sodium: 250mg
Total Carbohydrates: 18g
Sugars: 0g
Protein: 2g
Calcium: 2%
Iron: 2%

Cost:
I got this at Nijiya for $2.19.

Here’s the brand website.

No Responses Yet to “Review #117: Don Tacos – Chili Taco Flavor 「ドンタコス:チリタコス昧」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

