Review #119: Takoyaki Flavored Passing Sauce「たこやき 合格ソース昧」

14Jun11

I feel bad. Because this post is late, and because I’m cutting down on reviews. SO, as a “treat”, I guess, from now on, at the end of the post. I’ll let you guys know what I’ll review next.

I’m guessing this is a spring product directed towards the Japanese students who are in the midst of studying for their entrance exams.

It would have been nice if I posted this earlier, while I was taking my final exams, but oh well. Too late now.

Taste:
It kind of tastes and smells like takoyaki sauce, but I haven’t had any takoyaki in a while so I can’t confirm that.

There are a lot of spices involved. The most prominent one is something that’s really sweet – it reminds me of the taste from the Don Tacos chips. I really want to call it paprika, but I’m not good with spices. It’s kind of weird – like a mix of sweet, sour and salty. Sometimes I feel like it’s sour, the way a lemon is, but then it gets sweeter. It really is a unique taste, so I don’t know how to describe it well. Not that I ever know how to describe things well.

It’s not so bad that it makes me want to throw up, but it is weird, definitely an acquired taste. I don’t like it, but I don’t not like it either.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 2.04oz (58g)
Serving Size: 30g
Servings: about 2
Calories: 150
Total Fat: 7g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 207mg
Total Carbohydrates: 20g
Sugars: 8g
Protein: 2g

Cost:
I got this for $2.19 at Nijiya.

Next: ポッピンクッキン-作ろう!お弁当![Poppin’ Cookin’ – Make! Bento (boxed lunch)!]

2 Responses to “Review #119: Takoyaki Flavored Passing Sauce「たこやき 合格ソース昧」”

  1. 1 yukiseki

    Yay, I love Poppin’ Cookin’! Thanks for all the reviews, I really enjoy reading them. :D

    • Thanks for the comment! :D
      I’m glad people actually read what I babble. (:


Leave a Reply

