Review #121: Bourbon Petit Series – Chocolate Chip Cookies

29Jun11

I think they used 25% of chocolate chips…or maybe they’re saying that out of the whole cookie, 25% of it is chocolate chips. It says “チョコチップ 25%使用”. The katakana part just says “choko chippu” and the kanji part says “shiyou” which is translated to “use; application”. But yeah…

Well there’s a short little Japanese lesson for today…not really.

Taste:
Even though the packaging is pretty much see through, I was surprised at how tiny each cookie was. Only about 1 inch in diameter. And there were only 22 in total, which is probably equivalent to only about 5 or 6 regular sized cookies.

Well, they smell really good though. Super chocolatey, but not in the sickening sense. They are so tiny, but delicious! At least it makes me feel a little less bad about myself if I eat three or four in one sitting.

I love it because it’s chocolate on chocolate. It’s not like regular chocolate chip cookies where it’s just like “vanilla” cookie with chocolate chips. It’s a chocolate cookie with chocolate chips. DOUBLE CHOCOLATE. Well, it’s kind of obvious that it is, but whatever.

The cookie is normal I guess – in terms of texture. It’s not crispy, but it’s not the chewy type either. It’s a semi mild dark chocolate taste for the cookie portion and then the chocolate chips are most likely just milk chocolate. There is also a sort of cocoa powdery after taste. So overall, it’s very chocolatey, but not in a bad way. They complement each other – each level of chocolateness.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 2.11oz (60g)
Serving Size: 1/2 package (30g)
Calories: 150
Total Fat: 7g
Sat Fat: 3g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 10mg
Sodium: 45mg
Total Carbohydrates: 20g
Fiber: 1g
Sugars: 8g
Protein: 2g
Vitamin A: <2%
Calcium: <2%
Vitamin C: <2%
Iron: 4%

Cost: I got it at Nijiya for $1.69, but it wasn’t until I got home that I realized I could have gotten it for cheaper, at my local market for $1.59. Damn.

Sorry, I can’t find it anywhere online. Well, there was this one place, but it only ships domestically in Japan…so… But here it is anyways, in case anyone can and wants to get it.

Read a review by The Japanese Snack Food Reviews.

Next: Holiday Special (July 4th)

One Response to “Review #121: Bourbon Petit Series – Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. 1 Jess

    Hi! Love your site! I’d love to work with you and review some of the items you feature. We don’t have interesting Japanese snacks where I live! I’d be happy to credit you in my acclaimed site if you’d help me out. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

