Review #125: Meiji Black Chocolate「明治ブラックチョコレート」

22Aug11

I’m going to start off this post with a little bit more personal stuff. So you can skip this part if you want to.

First, I want to say that I don’t have many snacks left (well, I already told you before, but I’m just repeating myself). I only have about one month’s worth of reviews (that is if I post them weekly). Of course, I can stop by my local market and get some from time to time, but I don’t think I’ll be going back to Japantown anytime soon. During Thanksgiving break for sure, but I don’t know if I’ll go back any time before that. So I might have some really long breaks between posts, sorry in advance.

Second (and lastly), I want to talk about my pictures. I totally have a nice camera now, so I want to start taking better – more artistic – shots of the snacks. I’ve been kind of lazy with it so lately, it’s just been BLEH, but I know I can do better, so I will try!

Taste:
I’m a fan of dark chocolate. I’ve tried 86% before (which is probably the highest) and I found it a tad on the not so delicious side. I mean, the first piece was kind of awful. But the ones that came after it tasted a bit better, but it was still a little bit gross. There was absolutely no trace of a sweet taste on it at all.

My favorite is 72% from Ghirardelli. It’s perfect for me. Bitter, but still a little bit sweet.

I would label this chocolate around 60% (because it’s kind of similar to the 60% at Ghirardelli). It’s darker than milk chocolate for sure. It doesn’t have any of the creamy/milky-ness that milk chocolate has. But it’s also pretty sweet – kind of milk chocolate sweet (not in taste, but in strength).

The shape kind of throws me off, because it makes me feel like I’m getting less chocolate than the big bar makes it seem like I should. Still, the flavor makes up for it. I want to say that this is even better than Dars, but I can’t because I haven’t had Dars in a while so it wouldn’t be a fair game. But this is definitely making it up there as one of my favorite brands of chocolate.

It’s good, though a little bit sweet for me. I would recommend this for people who don’t necessary love dark chocolate (like I do), but still want something a bit darker than milk chocolate.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 2.04oz (58g)
Serving Size: 1/2 package (29g)
Calories: 170
Fat Calories: 100
Total Fat: 11g
Sat Fat: 6g
Cholesterol: 10mg
Sodium: 10mg
Total Carbohydrates: 10g
Fiber: <1g
Sugar: 15g
Protein: 2g
Vitamin A: <2%
Calcium: 8%
Iron: 4%

Cost:
I got it at the market for $1.68.

You can get it at marukaiEstore ($1.78), eFoodDepot ($1.79), Asian Food Grocer ($1.84), or Amazon ($2.49).

Read reviews by Jim’s Chocolate Mission, Authority Sites Blog, and Candy Addict.

Check out this site for some handmade chocolate recipes (手作りチョコレシピ). If you can read Japanese, you can look (and maybe try) some of the recipes on the left hand side. If you can’t, well, you can still enjoy the sparkly and delicious looking pictures.

Next: Ketchup French Fries

No Responses Yet to “Review #125: Meiji Black Chocolate「明治ブラックチョコレート」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

