Review #118: Kit Kat – European Cheese「キットカット:チーズ」

04Jun11

What in the world, right? How could European cheese (though I’m not sure how different that is from “regular” cheese) and chocolate go together? I’m not entirely sure either, actually. It’s just, it kind of popped out to me, besides the packaging is nice. I guess the last haul was kind of “exotic” food, except it’s too little to make it a theme. Well, last time’s chocolate+cheese combo was okay, so maybe this will be too.

Here's to show you the size of the Kit Kat. It's only slightly larger than my cow eraser.

Taste:
I’m mainly talking to other snack bloggers, but do you usually read a review before you sample a product or vice versa? And I’m not talking about products that you specially bought because you read a good review for it. Usually, (if I can find another review) I leave reading other people’s reviews until after, so that I’m not biased. But, I admit, I glanced at some reviews before I tasted this (well, not really read, I mainly just skipped to the rating part).

It’s sooo tiny. It truly is petite. Like, unbelievably.

Anyways, the reviews weren’t very favorable, so I was a little bit scared to try this. However, it turned out pretty okay. It smelt funny, but familiar when I opened it.

It’s a really unique taste. The wafer part is the same as usual, and the texture is the same. But the taste… It’s like chocolate with a slightly tang. It doesn’t taste strongly of white chocolate, or at least not the kind that’s sickeningly sweet. I actually think it kind of tastes like milk chocolate (probably because the tang downsizes the sweetness).


It’s not amazing. But it’s not as bad as I feared. One thing I’m glad of is the petite size actually. Because if it were any bigger, I might have gotten sick of it.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.58oz (45g)
Serving Size: 1 pcs (4.5g)
Servings: 10
Calories: 25
Total Fat: 2g
Sat Fat: 0g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 7mg
Total Carbohydrates: 3g
Sugar: 2g
Protein: (It got scratched off) 

Cost:
I got this at Nijiya for $3.79. You can get it at napaJapan ($4.99), Asian Food Grocer ($2.99), or Amazon ($2.99).

It was honestly kind of unworth that much, so…

Read reviews by Japanese Snack Reviews, Jen Ken’s Kit Kat Blog, Jim’s Chocolate Mission and Not Martha.



One Response to “Review #118: Kit Kat – European Cheese「キットカット:チーズ」”

  1. 1 Deb

    If I plan to review something, I do tend to avoid other reviews until after, unless I’m too excited to wait. But I avoided this KitKat entirely after some bad cheese/chocolate experiences.

    I love that you put the KitKat by your cow eraser. It’s so cute!


Leave a comment