Chocolate Wonderland – Look Italian Dolce「ルック イタリアン ドルチェ チョコレト」

04Feb11

Like the title? It didn’t take me that long to figure it out, inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I have six reviews for this “special section”. One more than last time. But only one away from a full week, darn. Well, it’s not like I post everyday, so…whatever I guess. Maybe I should buy one more just to make it seven.

This is my third Look product. So far, I’ve been liking half of the chocolate flavors within the pack, but none of them have been “OMG Delicious” yet, because…well, because only a couple are really good.

All the desserts look good. I want to learn Italian! It’s on my list of languages I want to learn, right after Korean&French. I do know, from a little bit of knowledge that “dolce” means sweet.  I love the color scheme, it totally fits with the “Italian mood”. I wish I had better backgrounds for products, but I try my best with what I have. I mean, I don’t do crafting…so these backgrounds are mainly like gift wrapping and bags and stuff…but yeah. I don’t know, next time I go to Japantown, I might buy some background thingy. Maybe.

Taste:

Tiramisu「ティラミス」
Tirmisu didn’t go well the for Toppo, but it went over pretty well last time. Let’s see how it shapes up this time.

I actually went backwards with the tasting, I started with the  Delizia Al Limone. And, well, yeah. You’ll read it soon. The coffee smell strong, good signs. The taste is even stronger. It tastes like bitter coffee (towards the middle), but it has a bit of sweetness to it. There isn’t really anything distinct about it though. However, I had to look twice, to make sure I ate the right one. Because I swear, it seemed like it had a hint of chestnuts to it, which would mean that it could have been the Mont Blanc. But it wasn’t. The second piece, didn’t taste like chestnuts, so maybe I was just being a little bit crazy there.

Mont Blanc「モンテビアンコ」
On the packaging, and what it actually pronounces in katakana, is indeed, Mont Bianco. I’m assuming they mean Mont Blanc though. Because for one thing, the picture looks like it. But who knows really. The back claims that the filing is “marron cream”.

It isn’t much of a coffee taste in this one, but definitely dark chocolate. There is a slightly bitter aftertaste. I don’t know. It doesn’t really taste like much. I wouldn’t really call it Mont Blanc. But of course, there’s two things. One, that the piece that I just ate was only half a piece. And two, the name doesn’t necessarily say Mont Blanc. To be honest, I actually considered thinking that the flavor could be “taro“. I don’t know. I guess it has some chestnut flavor, but not very strong. It’s a good piece, still, but not very distinctive.

Espresso Mousse「エスプレッソムース」
I’m a huge fan of coffee, and I like mousse pretty well. So this looks like a hopeful piece.

I love it. It’s super dark, but at the same time still sweet. It has a creamy texture of a mousse, and I mean the insides. Of course, I suppose that could possibly said for all of them. I absolutely adore the taste. It’s bitter, just like coffee. Strong too, like espresso, not just mocha or frappuchinos. This is my second favorite. I really love it.

Delizia Al Limone「デリツィアリモーネ」
I have no clue what this is, but it is an Italian dessert, I suppose.

This is my favorite, even though I don’t know what it is. This being my first one, and the Espresso Mousse afterwards gave me hope that this would be an “OMG Delicious” pack, unlike the other two, who came close(Well, the Parfait was done before the new review system, so it’s a little bit different). There are actually crystals of “lemon” embedded in it. And the lemon taste is strong, but not overpowering, so I can still taste the dark chocolate. Well, to be honest, I really love both the Espresso Mousse and this, that I can’t really pick a definitive favorite. But I guess the reason I would say this is better over the Mousse, is because it was less expected. I mean, the dark, bitter taste is lovely. But I like how this is kind of a combination of dark coffee and a dessert.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.48oz (42g)
Serving Size: 6 pieces (14g)
Servings: 3 [This is so wrong…there are only 12 pieces in the box…]
Calories: 85
Total Fat: 6g
Sat Fat: 1g
Cholesterol: 0g
Sodium: 10mg
Total Carbohydrates: 7g
Sugars: 7g
Protein: 1g

Cost:
I bought this at the market for $1.98. Get it for $2.89 at napaJapan.

Check out a review from Japanese Snack Reviews. 8tokyo has two cute photos with the chocolate.

The absolute perfect box of Look chocolate (so far) would include: Espresso Mousse, Delizia Al Limone, Orange Sherbert and Blueberry Parfait. But still, I think this box deserves a



No Responses Yet to “Chocolate Wonderland – Look Italian Dolce「ルック イタリアン ドルチェ チョコレト」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment