Review #87: Look:Parfait A La Mode 「ルック:パフェ ア・ラ・モード」

04Jan11

After reading numerous blogs and tumblr posts, etc. I’ve come to realize that I’m pretty lucky. Because where I live, I have a good access to Japanese goods, unlike a lot of other people. And I’ve also realized how great my market is. Because, I’ve seen a lot of foods and sweets that I’ve wanted, but I never thought I would possibly be able to get them, because they would be something that only sells in Japan.

Packaging:
This chocolate is one example of how awesome my market is.  I’ve LOOK-ed at this chocolate before on the web (bad pun, but I had to do it), I think the first place I saw it was from PrettyPrettyYumYum. Although, mines is different as I have blueberry and custard purin and she has matcha and caramel banana(I don’t like banana though). I thought, OMG, that looks delicious. But I never thought I’d have a chance, because I thought it would be a only sold in Japan food.

And when I saw it at Nijiya, I knew I had to have it. I knew I wasn’t going to leave without it.

Even if I hadn’t seen it, I know that I would’ve considered getting it. I don’t know if I would’ve gone through with it though. Because the packaging is super cute and attractive. I love desserts and desserts that look super delicious are even better. And these desserts do look super delicious. I love parfaits. Okay, the truth is I think I’ve only had one before. But I’ve always seen pictures, and they look amazing. Especially the ones in Japan, even their fake models look delicious!

Rating: A+

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $2.19. Buy it for $4.99 at Tsunami.hk or $2.99 at napaJapan.

Taste:
I’ve heard good things about this chocolate so I’m looking forward to it. I definitely have that thought in the back of my mind, tugging at me to not be too disappointed if it doesn’t taste anything like parfaits. I’m hoping this will be as good, or even better than Dars chocolate.

There are four flavors:

Blueberry Parfait – It’s the first one, L. There’s only the smell of chocolate and bit of something tart, but not really blueberry, I don’t think. It’s definitely blueberry though. Inside the coating of chocolate, is a white cream with blueberry sauce over it. I love the jam, it’s super tart, but sweet at the same time. The chocolate is soft, sweet and delicious. I can’t really tell the difference between the white cream and the chocolate coating thing. It might be better if it were just chocolate and blueberry, but I don’t know. (5/5)

Pudding Parfait – It honestly doesn’t sound that amazing. One of my favorite characters loves purin, and I think it tastes okay to, but I don’t like it that much. It has a weird taste to it. It is the first “O”, and it’s the normal shaped one. The smell, again is only of chocolate so far. Oh my, so unexpected. I bit into it and the first thing I saw was the black liquid, similar to the blueberry. For a moment, I thought I grabbed the wrong one, but nope. I realize that the black liquid represents the caramel on top of purin. It has a slightly bitter taste to it, and it does vaguely taste like purin. The thing is, the pieces are so small it’s kind of hard to tell the exact flavor. (4.5/5)

Strawberry Parfait – This one is the second O, the indented, ring one. A lot of people say that there are too many strawberry products. I agree with it, but I don’t totally find the abundance of strawberry candy bad. Again, only a chocolate smell. Strangely, it looks black, but only when it’s within the chocolate, outside, it’s red. Just like blood. (Sorry!) I love the tartness of the strawberry, super yummy. Normally, strawberry candies are pretty much just sweet, but they forget that strawberries can be tangy too. Awesome. (4.9/5)

Chocolate Parfait – Last, but definitely not least. It smells stronger of chocolate than the others, obviously. Mmm, delicious. It tastes like…coffee. More than chocolate. A bitter, yet sweet taste of coffee. I think there’s less liquidy stuff in this one, but it’s still there. I really love coffee, so this tastes great. And it’s not the kind of coffee (candy) that gets diluted with sugar, it tastes really fresh and good. Not completely, of course, but still. (5/5)

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.48oz(42g)
Serving Size: 4 pieces(14g)
Servings: 3
Calories: 75
Total Fat: 4g
Sat Fat: 1g
Cholesterol: 0g
Sodium: 10mg
Total Carbo: 8g
Sugars: 8g
Protein: 1g  

Overall:
The packaging is super cute and delicious, which is one of the reasons I had to buy it. All the chocolates are good, my favorite, however, is the blueberry one. I love the tartness of it, and it’s just, super duper awesome.

Overall Rating: A+

Verdict:
I only have one row left, sadly. I would definitely hypothetically buy this again, if it were cheaper. Because, it is kind of expensive. I definitely recommend giving this a try if you can!

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
A = Amazing.
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Check out a review by Stephen Loves Candy. Check out all the delicious types of Look candy on the Fujiya website.



2 Responses to “Review #87: Look:Parfait A La Mode 「ルック:パフェ ア・ラ・モード」”

  1. 1 Deb

    I think I need to give Look another look, so to speak. I had plain matcha Look once years ago in Japan and wasn’t impressed with the quality, and I’ve avoided it since then. However, after reading this review, I think I might have judged it too quickly!

    • LOL, I love the pun :) Well, it is pretty good, so I would give it another try if you could. But be aware that I might have been a little bit prejudice when I tried this, because I had already read reviews for it.


Leave a comment